Restore last model choice used in session when it is resumed

Open 💬 3 comments Opened Mar 13, 2026 by doublemover
💡 Likely answer: A maintainer (github-actions[bot], contributor) responded on this thread — see the highlighted reply below.

What version of Codex CLI is running?

codex-cli 0.114.0

What subscription do you have?

Pro

Which model were you using?

Doesn't matter

What platform is your computer?

Win 11 x64

What terminal emulator and version are you using (if applicable)?

Windows Terminal, PS7.x

What issue are you seeing?

When changing the model or reasoning level in one session, resuming other sessions use that choice too instead of persisting with what they were using. Naturally I did not notice this until 5.4 xhigh kirby'd a week's worth of tokens in a day (usage tracking issues aside)

What steps can reproduce the bug?

1) Use one session for a while set to a given model/reasoning level
2) Exit codex
3) In another session, change to a higher or lower amount of reasoning, or a different model
4) Resume the other session
5) Resumed session is now using what was chosen in the other without any indication of change

What is the expected behavior?

It doesn't do this, or at least calls it out. The difference between high and xhigh is not a sufficient amount of indication

Additional information

“He wins his battles by making no mistakes.” - Sun Tzu

View original on GitHub ↗

3 Comments

github-actions[bot] contributor · 5 months ago

Potential duplicates detected. Please review them and close your issue if it is a duplicate.

  • #13676
  • #14008
  • #13066

Powered by Codex Action

etraut-openai contributor · 5 months ago

The current behavior is by design, so I don't think we'd consider this a bug. Users previously gave us feedback that they wanted model choice to be persisted as the default. When resuming a session, the same default is then restored.

We don't currently store model or reasoning choices in the session's metadata since those can change throughout a session.

I'll change this from a bug report to a feature request, and we'll see what other users think.

doublemover · 5 months ago

Wild. I've been using this for like 12 weeks and only just now noticed this. I suspect it may be a source of usage drain complaints!

A more visible notification would be lovely, along with the ability to opt out of changes in other sessions impacting this one on resume (by some sort of launch flag similar to --last, and/or an option)